October 18, 2017: *** The newly-restored Holy Trinity Parish Church of Loay is formally turned-over on Sunday October 15, 2017 from the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) to the Diocese of Tagbilaran through Bishop Alberto Uy. ***For the very first time, Bohol landed among the 14 finalists in the search for thr Most Business-Friendly Province in the country. ***PDEA-Bohol Head Agent Nicholas Gomez admitted that the drug problem in Bohol persists despite the reduction of supply of shabu coming from Cebu. *** The administration of the Bohol District Jail is now planning to acquire an x-ray machine as part of its crackdown on the entry of contraband into the jail facility, said BDJ Warden Jail Chief Insp. Felipe Montejo. *** DILG-Bohol conducted People's Forum on Federalism on October 17, 2017 at JJ's Seafood Village with city/municipal information officers and CSO/Faith-Based Representatives as participants. ***Schools across the province are expected to conduct make-up classes in lieu of class suspensios due to the two-a nationwide raspot astrike, according toDepEdBohol SchoolVGovernace and Operations Division Chief Desiderio Delgero. ***The province is bent on making history by getting a UNESCO recognition as a global geological park, the first for Philippines. ***The symbolic unveiling of the Geomarker at the Chocolate Hills Complex on Sunday will boost Bohol's application for UNESCO declaration of the entire province as a global geological park.

Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Rey Anthony Chiu

TAGBILARAN CITY, January 28, 2014 (PIA)—President Benigno S. Aquino III adds up two more fixed holidays in 2014, including a special non working day on Friday, January 31, it being the Chinese New Year. 

On January 31, 2014, Chinese nationals all over the world will celebrate Spring Festival, popularly known as Chinese New Year, according to the Presidential proclamation.

Chinese New Year or the Spring Festival is among the most revered and celebrated festive events not only in China, but in the Philippines as well.

As Filipino-Chinese and ordinary Filipinos honor the day, the declaration is a manifestation of solidarity with the Chinese-Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people, the president said. 

In Proclamation 655 which he signed September 25, 2013, the President also declared December 26, Friday as additional special non-working day, bringing the number of fixed holidays in the Philippines to 18. 
Muslim holidays which the entire country also observes remain unfixed, or until the Office of the President is informed of the approximate dates the celebrations fall, them being dependent on the lunar calendar. 

Among this year’s ten declared regular holidays in 2014 are January 1 (New Years Day), Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9), Maundy Thursday April 17, Good Friday (April 18), Labor Day (May 1), Independence Day (June 12), National Heroes Day (Last Monday of August, hence August 25), Bonifacio Day (November 30), Christmas Day (December 25), and Rizal Day (December 30).

This year’s special non-working days include this year’s first ever declared Chinese New Year (January 31 Friday), Black Saturday (April 19), Ninoy Aquino Day (August 21) and All Saints’ Day (November 1).

The Malacanang proclamation also declares additional special, and so, non-working days on Eve of Christmas (December 24), Day after Christmas (December 26), and the last day of the year (December 31).

Moreover, the proclamation also declares special holiday for all schools the Anniversary of the EDSA Revolution (February 25). 

The proclamation also said declarations for Eid’l Fit’r and Eid’l Adha would be declared separately as soon as approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Hijra, or the Islamic calendar. 

The President would be advised on such specific dates by the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos, states the proclamation.

No comments:

Contact Us

Philippine Information Agency
Bohol Information Center
LMP Building, K of C Drive, Poblacion II, Tagbilaran City
Telephone Numbers (038) 412-2292, 501-8554