August 18, 2017: *** The National Grid Corp. of the Philippines (NGCP) is now faced with the problem of looking for usable areas to hold transmission lines that would link the power barge in Tapal Wharf in Ubay town to a substation in Barangay Emelda of the same town. ***The City Government of Tagbilaran is set to sign a memorandum of agreement with BFAR for a multi-million peso livelihood project intended to uplift the living conditions of the fisherfolk. ***47th Infantry Battalion Commanding Officer, Lt. Col. Joel Malig said units under him are currently undergoing intensified intelligence operations along with other allied units to confirm the reports on sightings of armed men in Bohol. *** LGU Pilar's program, "Productivity Improvement thru landcare and Agriculture Resource Development and Management"(Pilar Dam) landed in the top 20 in Taking Look 2017. *** LGU Panglao got third place (3rd-6th class municipalities) in Infrastructure during the 5th Regional Competitiveness Summit held at PICC recently. ***LGU Panglao's entry program "A Purok-Based Approach in Basic Education Reforms/Turo-Turismo: Strengthening Partnership and Industry Linkage for Effective K-12 Implementation is among the 20 finalist of the Galing Pook Awards 2017. ***The towns of Panglao and Pilar are among the 20 finalists in the yearly search for Galing Pook Awards 2017. *** The National Food Authority in Bohol said prices of rice in the province have been on an uptrend since last week reaching an increase of up to P5 per kilo. *** A man listed in the Bohol Provincial Police Office drug watch list was caught last night with drugs weighed 80 grams with estimated street value of P993,000.

Search This Blog

Saturday, January 19, 2013

Rey Anthony Chiu 

TAGBILARAN CITY, Bohol, January 17, 2013 (PIA) –The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in several en banc sessions, and considering the legal department’s earlier screenings, trims the list of senatorial aspirants from 85 to 32 in a matter of three months. 

Among those whose names were stricken off the list were Boholano senatorial aspirant Severo Maluenda Jr. from Nahawan Clarin and 53 others who tried their lucks in a bid for senate seat were nipped in the bud by the Comelec move. 

To the heave of relief of millions of voters who needed to go through the long list of candidates, the Comelec move is a welcome respite. 

As to the propriety of staving off less-deserving candidates, Bohol Election Supervisor Atty. Eliseo Labaria assured that everyone underwent due process before being delisted. 

“Not one among those who have been declared nuisance is denied of the due process to defend themselves,” Labaria said at the recent Kapihan sa PIA Thursday. 

According to the Omnibus Election Code (OEC), the Commission may, motu proprio or upon a verified petition of an interested party, and after due notice and hearing, refuse to give due course to or cancel a certificate of 

candidacy, if it shown that the certificate of candidacy has been filed to put the election process in mockery or disrepute. 

Here, the candidate can be declared nuisance. 

Or, Atty. Labaria said, if the filing of a candidacy is to cause confusion among the voters by the similarity of the names of the registered candidates; or when the reason for filing the certificate of candidacy is to obtain money, profit or any other consideration, or when the reason for filing is to discredit another candidate, he can be declared nuisance candidate. 

The provincial election supervisor also explained that if the candidate clearly shows he has no bonafide intention to run for the office for which the certificate of candidacy has been filled and thus prevent a faithful determination of the true will of the electorate, then a nuisance candidate can be determined. 

Listed as capable of being voted upon as senators are Ricardo Penson (independent), Samson Alcantara (Social Justice Society), Greco Antonious Beda Belgica (Democratic Party of the Philippines), Baldomero Falcone (Democratic Party of the Philippines) and Christian Señeres(Democratic Party of the Philippines). 

The Adminsitration party also fielded Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV, former Las Pinas City Rep. Cynthia Villar, Former Akbayan Rep. Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros-Baraquel, Former Senator Maria Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal, Former Senator Ramon Magsaysay Jr., Aurora Rep. Juan Edgardo Angara, Senator Alan Peter Cayetano, Senator Antonio Trillanes IV and Senator Aquilino Martin Pimentel III. 

From the United Nationalist Alliance, the senatorial line up include Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay, Margarita “Tin-Tin” Cojuangco, former Senator Richard “Dick” Gordon, Former Senator Ernesto Maceda, Former Senator Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri, San Juan City Rep. Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito, Zambales Rep. Maria Milagros “Mitos” Magsaysay, Cagayan Rep. Juan Ponce “Jack” Enrile Jr and Senator Gregorio “Gringo” Honasan. 

The Comelec also allowed green lighted the candidates of LP and UNA to run for Senate: Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB) chair Grace Poe-Llamanzares, Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero, and Senator Loren Legarda. 

Other official senatorial candidates include: John Carlos De Los Reyes, Marwil Llasos, Rizalito David, Former Philippine Constabulary chief Ramon Montaño, Puerto Princesa Mayor Edward Hagedorn and Bayan Muna party-list Rep. Teodoro “Teddy” Casiño. (30) 

No comments:

Contact Us

Philippine Information Agency
Bohol Information Center
LMP Building, K of C Drive, Poblacion II, Tagbilaran City
Telephone Numbers (038) 412-2292, 501-8554